Reba's Rambles
 
Oh thanksgiving! I love this holiday: food, family, friends, pets, snow.  Okay so some of you may not have snow but where I come from a Thanksgiving snowstorm is a staple. Beyond the snow think about Thanksgiving traditions…think about the foods, the process, the cutting of the bird.  Perhaps the dinner has always been held at mom’s place or grandma’s place.  I personally am excited for the day I get to hold it at my own place.  A small graduate apartment is not the ideal place for thanksgiving but someday I will host this holiday and when it happens I will be prepared! 

So this blog is about emerging media and Thanksgiving this year crowned emerging media! How you ask? Well simply log online and all the advice you need was given from how to baste a turkey to how to crimp the dough on the piecrust.  If you were in a crisis on the big day, log onto the jenny-o webpage and all the online advice was there for the perfect bird.  Tweets were abound on the process, how to’s, and more.  I found none of these annoying and embraced the information for one day hosting my own. 

The best part of this Thanksgiving was being in the kitchen with my mom.  Although technology, blog posts, web pages, tweets and others were telling me how to create the best thanksgiving, I feel I learned best from Mom.  This year took it to another level; I was allowed to cut the bird.  A few cuts along the grain the right way, a few laughs and some spilled green bean hot-dish later it was a fantastic thanksgiving, without any technology telling me how.  However, if you need the help, embrace it! The help is there for a reason! Happy Holidays!!




Leave a Reply.